It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:22 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Pause - How to wait on someone
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:21 pm 
Can't wait for MWO
Can't wait for MWO

Recently, several of you (esp. LSS) have noted the rather single-threaded nature of our battles. What I mean is this: If you're "locked" in combat/RP with someone and they up and disappear for a while, there's no way to currently "pause". You either 1) Wait for person X to show or 2) Call the battle, collect your reward, and move on.

This is problematic b/c our members tend to come and go a bit more fluidly b/c of life events, work, school, etc. To fix this, let's try a "multi threaded" system for handling this (sorry for all the "threading" references - I'm a programmer, so I can't help but make the connection).

If you wish, you may "Pause" a reward-worthy event for some interval of time (we need to discuss how long). When it's paused, the event no longer counts as "active" and you may pursue other endeavors. If you wish to "Un-pause" the event (for instance, once your opponent returns), you may do as long as the "one active event" rule is met. If you're currently tied up in another reward-worthy endeavor, you must finish that event before going back to your old one. (This will prevent the rather easy abuse of this system whereby people could basically be in two reward-worthy things at once. Otherwise, they could just keep toggling the "pause" button back and forth on each one).

You may only have 1 "paused" active battle at a time. You may have only 1 "paused' active RP at a time. ("Active" here means reward-worthy). Special events & PQ's may not be paused (esp. b/c they're often run by mods).

What do you guys think? Sound about right? Too much at once? Completely out of left field?

Post subject: Re: Pause - How to wait on someone
PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:47 pm 
Can't wait for MWO
Can't wait for MWO